Perfection

I am so laid back that I never thought I was a perfectionist.
I am probably not an amazing breed of perfectionist, but I have it in my DNA.
As I am learning more about myself, and what truly matters in life.
I realize this perfection obsession is going to kill me, my joy, my dreams, my smile, its killing it.
I can’t keep waking up unhappy in my skin because I am not perfectly thin, perfectly organized, perfectly beautiful, intelligent and on and on.
The perfectionist see’s all the ways I am failing always failing.
Never seeing the ways I am NOT failing.
I can’t be a perfectionist anymore.
I can’t function with the fear that I am failing, that I am not enough.
Being a perfectionist makes me a bitter, angry, selfish, complaining, neglectful women.
No more.
I am enough.
In my weakness, when I rise, My God is shown to be strong. Because I know that in me alone there is nothing strong. It is Him in me that is strong. I will always tell of how his strength took away my anxious, empty, exhausted, afraid, perfectionist heart, and made it joy filled again.
Fully Living.
With Joy.
At Peace.
Thankful.
Enough.

One thought on “Perfection

Leave a Reply

