C for Children

“Children Obey your parents in all things, for this is well pleasing to the Lord” Colossians 3:20

If you look at most cartoons and T.V. Shows you will noticed something  about family relations. If the family has children, sibling relationships are usually not very gentle and kind. They are constantly annoyed,frustrated or embarrassed by each other. You will also notice that often the father figure is this clueless idiot instead of a Tender Warrior or fearless leader.

What is sad is that this creates a family culture that trains children to not respect their fathers or authority. I believe it also raises up people that have very shabby people skills. The home is where most people learn many life skills GOOD and BAD skills.  If most people are getting their Cues from T.V.  what skills do you think they are learning?

Many people have accepted it as normal that Children (specially teens) will be horribly disobedient and impossible to live with.  That siblings will fight and be at each others throat. ALL-THE-TIME!

I believe that does not have to be so. Children can be shown how to Love their siblings and Obey their parents. It helps to start early.

During ages 0-5 we started repeating things and have them memorize things like, “Children obey your parents…”,” God made all things…”, “Wisdom is better than Gold”, “cast all your cares on him for he cares for you”.

At a young age they do not understand what all that means but it is becoming a part of what they believe by repetition. As early as age 3, when they are disobedient , we can say Hey what does God’s word say about obedience and they can say “Children obey your parents….” Then I ask, “well did you obey?” They realize they did not and often self correct.

As they get older we  go into the Why’s and consequences etc.

I also teach my children that if they are asked by me or any authority to do something that is in violation with something they believe to be good and true they can refuse politely and as aggressively as they need to.

I am not saying that my 4 children are always perfectly compliant, ( I wouldn’t want that) but I am saying that a family environment can be a peaceful place instead of a war zone. Children can and do obey if you put them up to the challenge.

Children can obey if you train them to.

“Children Obey your parents in all things, for this is well pleasing to the Lord” Colossians 3:20

5 thoughts on “C for Children

  1. Hello,

    What a great post! I think this is my new favorite blog! I will definitely be back to see what you dream up for the other letters, and to read more of your lovely writing.

    I agree with what you said about so many TV shows. The characters are just disrespectful in general, and I notice if my sons watch one of these shows at a friend’s house, their behavior goes downhill (they might be emulating these characters without even realizing it).

    I am doing the A to Z Challenge as well. Take a peek at my blog too if you get a chance! I am writing a travel theme.

    Best,
    MOV

  2. I’m not sure any amount of that could have molded my strong-willed older. And since she inherited that from me, probably I can’t be too critical about that. She is lovely now, and I tend to value independent thought and critical evaluation of information above obedience, but it is very interesting to see another’s perspective on the matter.

    1. I agree with you about the independent thought and critical evaluation but what about at the age when they do not think that way yet? like 1 years old or 4 (depending on the child’s maturity)

  3. I see where you are coming from, but I’d rather have a strong willed child that is not afraid to question everything (including me). That is better skill for them to have as adults in this world. I am less concerned with “did my kids ‘obey’ me” and more “are they safe? am I preparing them to survive in this world?”

    The deal with cartoons, you have to watch them from a child’s perspective, not an adult one. Take Phineas and Ferb for example. The two younger brothers have a great relationship together. They are constantly trying to be “busted” by their older sister but to a child with older siblings that is funny and how it can feel to them. It’s a caricature, an exaggeration of reality. I mean look at the Simpsons one of the most successful TV shows of all time. Homer would have (and has have) his children taken away, but it is the caricature of the “clueless dad”. It is funny, and entertaining, because we can all relate to it.

    Tim
    The Freedom of Nonbelief

Leave a Reply

